Guinness made a big change to its brewing process – and it’s now totally vegan

There’s nothing fishy about black stuff

Video upload

Video unavailable

Guinness Draft Stout shares its secrets

Guinness is now vegan.

For 256 years, the world-famous Irish stout has been made from fish bladders.

Isingglass – also known as “dried fish swim bladders” – is used to filter out unnecessary yeast in some beers and wines during the brewing process.

But now the owner of the Diageo brand, which makes the drink in Dublin, Ireland, has fine-tuned his method.








Nice day for a vegan Guinness
(

Picture:

Hulton Archives)






In a statement announcing the news, Guinness told the Irish mirror : “The first step in the deployment of the new filtration system focused on the Guinness Draft in barrels.

“The Brewery is delighted to confirm that this phase of the project has been completed and that all of the Guinness Draft cask produced at St. James’s Gate Brewery and served in pubs, bars and restaurants around the world is brewed without the use of water. ‘isinglass for filtering beer. . ”

It took years for the company to phase out the use of “fish guts” in dark products. Obviously, not compromising on flavor, efficiency and cost were the order of the day.








The black thing is famous all over the world
(

Picture:

Getty Images)






For now, only Guinness on tap is suitable for vegans. Bottled and canned stouts still use isinglass, but will, according to the group, be vegan by the end of the year.

PETA welcomed the news: “When we learned that Guinness had removed the fish glue (obtained from fish bladders) from its filtration method, some of us may have shed tears of joy.

“Stout lovers can raise their glass to the fact that Guinness the world over is now vegan.”





Source link

Comments are closed.