Guinness is now suitable for vegetarians and vegans as it changes the brewing process

Our apologies to all the vegetarians who had drunk Guinness in blissful ignorance, but never in its 256-year history has it been adapted to vegetables.

So far, that is.

In the past, Guinness used isinglass in its production, which is a gelatin by-product created from dried fish bladders. Yum.

It’s used to speed up the yeast filtering process from the stout, and while it won’t affect the flavor or texture of your pint, small traces of fish remain in the drink.


good things
It’s been a long wait for the vegetables (Photo: Guinness)

Yes, that sounds pretty dark – especially if fish gelatin is on your list of prohibited foods.

But don’t worry, said a spokesperson The temperature they plan to stop using isinglass and replace it with a new filtration method next year.

The spokesperson said: “Although isinglass is a very effective means of clarification and has been in use for many years, we plan to stop using it as the new filter asset is introduced.” .

They have yet to reveal details of the process they will replace it with, but said they are considering two processes, with bentonite (an absorbent clay) and Irish moss being the most common alternatives for vegetarians. .

That’s good news for vegetables and it’s good news for everyone, because if you think about it, no one really wants to drink fish bladder particles with their pint. Mind you, Irish moss doesn’t sound much better.

MORE: Guinness presents a ‘sweet and intense’ black sauce for your bacon butt

MORE: Quiz: Do you know the real rules of beer pong?


Source link

Comments are closed.