Skip to main content
Monthly Archives

May 2017

Guinness made a big change to its brewing process – and it’s now totally vegan

By Brewing process

There’s nothing fishy about black stuff

Video upload

Video unavailable

Guinness Draft Stout shares its secrets

Guinness is now vegan.

For 256 years, the world-famous Irish stout has been made from fish bladders.

Isingglass – also known as “dried fish swim bladders” – is used to filter out unnecessary yeast in some beers and wines during the brewing process.

But now the owner of the Diageo brand, which makes the drink in Dublin, Ireland, has fine-tuned his method.








Nice day for a vegan Guinness
(

Picture:

Hulton Archives)






In a statement announcing the news, Guinness told the Irish mirror : “The first step in the deployment of the new filtration system focused on the Guinness Draft in barrels.

“The Brewery is delighted to confirm that this phase of the project has been completed and that all of the Guinness Draft cask produced at St. James’s Gate Brewery and served in pubs, bars and restaurants around the world is brewed without the use of water. ‘isinglass for filtering beer. . ”

It took years for the company to phase out the use of “fish guts” in dark products. Obviously, not compromising on flavor, efficiency and cost were the order of the day.








The black thing is famous all over the world
(

Picture:

Getty Images)






For now, only Guinness on tap is suitable for vegans. Bottled and canned stouts still use isinglass, but will, according to the group, be vegan by the end of the year.

PETA welcomed the news: “When we learned that Guinness had removed the fish glue (obtained from fish bladders) from its filtration method, some of us may have shed tears of joy.

“Stout lovers can raise their glass to the fact that Guinness the world over is now vegan.”




Source link

Guinness goes vegan as fish bladder is finally removed from brewing process

By Brewing process

Guinness is good for … vegans.

For the first time in 256 years of history, the famous Irish stout has stopped using fish bladders in its filters.

This means that vegans can now enjoy a pint of black stuff without compromising their beliefs.



Fair point, really. Well the harp is here

In a statement announcing the news, Guinness said: “The first step in the deployment of the new filtration system has focused on the Guinness Draft in barrels.

“The Brewery is delighted to confirm that this phase of the project has been completed and that all of the Guinness Draft cask produced at St. James’s Gate Brewery and served in pubs, bars and restaurants around the world is brewed without the use of water. ‘isinglass for filtering beer. . “

Isingglass – also known as dried fish swim bladders – is used to filter out unnecessary yeast in some beers and wines when brewed.



A pint of Guinness

It was the only animal product used in the drink, so stout is now finally suitable for vegans.

We have to add that this applies to Guinness from a keg ONLY, as cans and bottles of the drink are not yet fish-free.

But the company says it will also be vegan later this year.

Campaigners hailed the news, with PETA saying: “When we learned that Guinness had removed isinglass (obtained from fish bladders) from its filtration method, some of us may have shed tears from joy.

“Stout lovers can raise their glass to the fact that Guinness the world over is now vegan.”


We are testing a new site:
This content is coming soon

Source link